Skip to main content
Topic: Awning Replacement (Read 365 times) previous topic - next topic
Awning Replacement
The awning on my 1997 MB needs to be replaced. It is getting increasingly difficult to open and close. I've replaced the parts which are still available but still need to get on a ladder and tug on it to get it started when opening. I crank on the handle then manually pull it out a bit then crank some more, pull out some more until gravity finally take over and I can crank it all the way open. The canvas is still in good shape but the top cover is bent and looks unsightly. There isn't a replacement cover available that I can find.

My preference would be to have a motorized awning (with manual close for when the motor decides not to work) however the most common ones have the hydraulic arms which mount to the side of the coach. On the mid bath it would mean attaching it to the front window. I'm not an engineer but my guess is that glass is not a good attachment point for the arm at the front.

All that said I have narrowed down my options to a new Fiamma 45s which I believe can be motorized or a Zip Dee which is mainly used on Airstreams and has an attachment point close to the same places as my present bracket for the support arms.

Right now I am leaning towards the Fiamma. My thinking is that it would use the same mounting brackets as the Dometic 977AA13.065 which I have right now and I could install myself. I would have to have the zip Dee installed by a dealership. I'm guessing the Fiamma is about half the cost of the Zip Dee.

If anyone has replaced the awning on their Mid Bath I'd love to hear of their experience and recommendations.
1997 MB

Re: Awning Replacement
Reply #2
Interesting... I wonder why your coach has a Dometic awning.