Skip to main content
Topic: Servicing transmission on 2002 E-450 Super Duty (Read 273 times) previous topic - next topic
Servicing transmission on 2002 E-450 Super Duty
I've read topics stating when changing transmission fluids, you can drain the fluid from the pan. Measure the amount drained and replace with the same amount drained with new fluid. Am I correct?

Thanks!
2002 30' IB

Re: Servicing transmission on 2002 E-450 Super Duty
Reply #1
Am I correct?

Yip. Although you'll miss the fluid in the torque converter and you'll be using the old filter. I dropped the pan on mine so I could change the filter but I left the fluid in the torque converter. When I get around to it I'm going to do the same drain and replace. I figure that will be near 100%. My trans has a drain plug (photo).
jor
09 27' MB
10  Suby Forester

Reply #2
Thanks JOR.
My LD has 45k miles. I'm not a mechanic. I would be hesitant to drop the pan to change the filter and drain the converter.
2002 30' IB

Reply #3
I would be hesitant to drop the pan to change the filter and drain the converter.

I was probably not clear in my post. When you drop the pan, you're doing the same as draining through a drain plug. The advantage is that it allows access to the transmission filter. The only way to replace all of the fluid in the transmission is to flush the system. There are a number of posts here that describe that process. You might consider calling a couple of shops and asking the price for a drain and replace and for a complete flush. Good luck.
jor
09 27' MB
10  Suby Forester

Reply #4
Seeing that LD only 45K miles is a complete drain and flush necessary?
2002 30' IB

Reply #5