Skip to main content
Topic: Leveler Trouble (Read 281 times) previous topic - next topic
Leveler Trouble
We are purchasing a 2005 LD RB - We are Complete Newbies. We know we have some maintenance/fix it work to do to get her in tip top shape- price is worth it, however, The mechanic said he is having some “issues” with the levelers - I know this is broad but can someone speak to how extensive “issues” could be?  The deal is that all major systems will work - maybe not perfectly-but working. Thoughts?
Peter & Heather

Re: Leveler Trouble
Reply #1
You need to get a detailed description of the "issues" from that mechanic before you (or we) can assess how serious they are.
Andy Baird
2021 Ford Ranger towing 2019 Airstream 19CB
Previously: 1985 LD Twin/King "Gertie"; 2003 LD Midbath "Skylark"

Reply #2
Hi Vermont;  If they were original levelers in 2005, they were probably Kwikee. Good levelers (sold but not installed by Lazy Daze). Kwikee doesn't support the old levelers, That part of the company (Kwikee) has gone out of business, and parts are mostly unavailable. If they can be fixed, that's good. At worst they can be removed easily. New ones from a different manufacturer, (HWH, Lippert, Big Foot, etc) can be installed but at new cost.  Depending on what is wrong with the ones on this RB, the old ones may be worth some money to someone else looking for parts.
    As Andy said, we might be able to help you evaluate the situation if we knew more about the brand and problems.  And many people don't have levelers, and don't care for the penalty of extra weight and reliability.  A luxury, but not a necessity.   RonB
RonB (Bostick) living in San Diego
Original owner of "Bluebelle" a '99 TKB

Reply #3
"If they were original levelers in 2005, they were probably Kwikee."

Food for thought!