Skip to main content
Topic: Potential LD purchase (Read 444 times) previous topic - next topic
Potential LD purchase
Hello! I'm excited to be here, everyone is so kind and helpful!

I'm brand new to all this, but found an LD that fits in many ways and had a few questions.

The potential purchase is a 1995 26.5 with 120,000 miles. My husband is not happy about the mileage at all. My SIL is a mechanic and said a new engine is around $8,000. He also believed it was high mileage but these engines can go a long time if looked after correctly. We plan to use the LD about 350 miles a month. I know there's no magic number, but what has been the experience of others for how long before a new engine is required? It has a new tranny (around a year).

I want to find an LD to keep! I don't plan on reselling anytime soon. I particularly like the updated interior of the one I found. But my big fear is water damage. If I can even find an RV inspector, what is the usual protocol for that sort of thing? Bring the LD home and have a time line for inspection? Have it inspected before even driving to look?

Thanks so much for any input. I really want to do this right, but I don't want to wait too long and miss out on a purchase that will have me sorry while I continue to look.

Cynthia
On the search for a 26.5 MB
to be our home away from home

Re: Potential LD purchase
Reply #1
Hi Cynthia,

I would recommend an inspection pro or to purchase. No on June and type Certified RV Inspector to fine line in the area you need. Best of luck.
2002 TK 24ft

Reply #2