Skip to main content
Topic: Roof Reseal Question (Read 349 times) previous topic - next topic
Roof Reseal Question
After searching and reading a number of posts in the archives I was still feeling like I wanted more experienced eyes to look at some pictures I have. The rig is a 2005. Aside from cleaning, what are your thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

Morty

Re: Yet another roof reseal post (sorry)
Reply #1
You're due.

I have a 2006 and the roof was in better shape.  Had the Factory do mine.  Also replaced all the fans and escape hatch.

Peace of mind....

Bob
2006 RK

Reply #2
Looks a bit thin. I'm no expert but from what I've read on this forum the factory seal while very well done  will dry out and thin over time opening the possibilities of leakage.

When I got my 2003 last summer a previous owner had done all the seams with Eternabond and put a heavy pliant seal over the Eternabond tape so I don't have a feel for how long a factory seal will last. I am very grateful the previous owner did it though. I used Eternabond on an Alpenlite 5th wheel I used to have and was very happy with the results.

Steve
2003TK

Reply #3
Morty,

Here is a shot of our ‘15 roof seal four years after the LD was made. Aside from the slight discolouration, you will note that the seam between the roof panel and the side panel is not visible. In fact there is a noticeable rise in the seal kind of like a speed bump. The Mothership recommends a reseal ever 7-10 years. Mine should be good for another 3-6 years.

As mentioned above, the seal on the LD you are inspecting shows an obvious demarcation between panels. This may warrant a good look inside the rig for signs of water intrusion. If none is seen, and you purchase the coach, it will definitely need a reseal by a professional or your dedicated elbow grease to address the issue.

Another thing to consider is the seals around vents and the brittleness of the plastic vents. These can be replaced but will require additional work.