Skip to main content
Topic: Thinking about Full Timing in an older Lazy Daze (Read 1016 times) previous topic - next topic
Thinking about Full Timing in an older Lazy Daze
Hi All,

I have been a lurker/armchair researcher on this topic for a few months now, and I think it's time I lay out my thought experiment for those of you with the history and wisdom to tell me if I'm on to something, or if I've gone mad. Full disclosure this will be a slightly long big of story for perspective on who I am and why I want to do this:

I am a cruise ship musician. I live on my ship 6-7 months at a time, and then am home for 2-3 months at a time. Because of this schedule it is not economical to look into buying a home (especially the way the market is right now, finding something in my native Northern California that I could rent out, and still live in during my vacations isn't what I want to get into just now). I have been toying with the idea of buying an RV as a mobile apartment for my vacations, that I would then store during my contracts.

When it comes to small living spaces, believe me, I have the experience. After 10 years of living on various ships with various sized cabins (the smallest of which was the size of a queen mattress... yet still had a twin bed, closet, sink, desk, and fridge), so even a 24' class C motorhome would feel like a palace,with extra storage than I'm used to, to me.

After doing a TON of research I feel like, if this is the plan I follow, Lazy Daze is the way to go for me. I like the floorplans on both the 24' & 27' models of almost all generations. The reputation for quality is very valuable to me. And it looks like a reasonable expectation to say I can find a rig at or under 20 years old with under 100k miles and years of life left in it for between $15-20k.