Skip to main content
Topic: Towed Braking System (Read 491 times) previous topic - next topic
Towed Braking System
In the last two vehicles we towed we used the SMI Stay and Play Duo.

We just switched to a 2014 Honda CRV and I no longer have the SMI. I'm trying to decide on going with that again or something else. I know this has been discussed some but haven't kept up with changes in this area and wondered if there is anything as good or better.

Jim

Re: Towed Braking System
Reply #1
Jim-

I spend a lot of time over on the iRV2 forum, in the ""Toads and MH Towing Forum." A number of folks over there have adopted a cable-operated system and seem pleased with its simplicity. Here is a link to the product Web pages:

Add a brake to your towbar: NSA Ready Brake
Replace your towbar: NSA Ready Brute Elite

I have no experience with the NSA products. We have modified only one toad- a 2009 Honda Fit Sport- by adding the SMI (now Demco) Stay-in-Play Duo. I am happy with the Duo. I have had to replace the breakaway switch once in 15,000 miles of towing. The Duo was not an easy install on the Fit. It should be an easier install on the CR-V.

Mark H

Former owner, 31-foot gas Class A
Former owner, 1997-8 mid-bath

Reply #2
Far as I am aware, the Ready-Brake has no break-away provision. That requires an additional kit that is NOT so easy to install.

Steve
2004 FL
2013 Honda Fit

Reply #3
Were you happy with SMI's Stay and Play Duo in both of your previous vehicles?
If so, I would stick with a known, proven product. SMI still has a good reputation.
SMI has been owned by Demco since 2017, how that will effect things. if at all, is to be seen..
Stay-IN-Play DUO | Demco Products
Roadmaster sells a near clone.
http://www.roadmasterinc.com/pdf/85-4649.
I prefer to use 7-pin connectors. one wire is used to charge the battery. Another is for a dash mounted light, in  the LD's cab, that lights when the toad's brake lights are activated and illuminated.

Larry
Larry