Skip to main content
Topic: Air conditioner dripping on inside (Read 402 times) previous topic - next topic
Air conditioner dripping on inside
Our air conditioner occasionally drips on the inside.  It normally happens when the fan is set on auto.  As the fan cycles to off, we get a small stream of water at times...not consistently.  We are currently on the Texas coast with high humidity making the drip more common.  It seldom happens when the fan is on high.  Any suggestions to correct the problem would be appreciated.
Ross Taylor
2017 MB

Re: Air conditioner dripping on inside
Reply #1
I’m no expert on this but I wonder if the drip tube (if there is such a thing/I think there is) has cracked, broken off from the AC unit.

I have a faint recollection that a drip line travels down past/through the refrigerator compartment and to the ground. [Edit: Nope, there isn’t a drain tube but instead a drip pan. ALSO: There is nothing in our LDmanual about an issue about dripping or overflow-Although the maunufactures manual may cover this].

If this is the case and water is entering your rig (not a good thing), your wooden framing is most likely getting wet which could be a real issue.

I’ll check my manual and see if I can locate information in these regards. In the meantime, Larry, Chris, Steve and Joan probably have your answer.

I just found this YouTube video that addresses your issue. Seems to have your answer.  https://youtu.be/Ty-j9iT6YL8

Stay dry.

Kent
2015 27' RB "MissB.Haven"

Reply #2
This may help:

R.V. Air Conditioner Leaks

I'd first check the seal/gasket for tightness (if it's loose or too compressed, water may leak into the RV) and the drain pan (under the evaporator) for clogs; if the holes are blocked, water can drain into the rig instead of draining away on the roof. Not leak causing, but I'd also make sure the air filters are clean while you're at it; just rinse them under gently running water and let them dry thoroughly before putting them back.