Skip to main content
Topic: 6-speed Transmission- First Year? (Read 179 times) previous topic - next topic
6-speed Transmission- First Year?
I looked on Andy's "Changes by Year" page but couldn't find the answer to my question so I'm assuming it was after 2013. What was the first year Lazy Daze used the Ford chassis with the 6-speed?

Also, are there any owners that have the 6-speed and care to share their thoughts about it's performance, especially as compared to the 4 or 5-speed?

Thanks!
Greg & Victoria
2017 Mid-Bath  “Nocona” towing a manual 2015 Forester
Previously a 1985 TK
SKP #61264

Re: 6-speed Transmission- First Year?
Reply #1
I believe that the 2016 E-450 came with the 6-speed. I have no experience with the 6-speed in the E-450; I do have 15 years' worth of experience with the 4R100 4-speed. I doubt that I would lose the bet that the 6-speed is a significant improvement.  ;)
2003 TK has a new home

Reply #2
We have the 6-speed in our 2017 RB.  It is an improvement over the transmission that was in our 2006 E450 Winnie.  Already, with just a few thousand miles on the 6-speed., I can see a 1.75 to 2.25 mpg improvement.  Over a long haul trip, that is significant.  It is a smooth shifter, too.  I like it. I did experience one hiccup last weekend coming home down through the Feather River Canyon.  I don't know why but the transmission wouldn't leave 5th gear on a down-grade, and it tached up pretty high at only 50 mph. I was not in Tow/Haul, but I punched that in and out once, and the transmission reverted to normal operation.  I had not kicked in the Tow/Haul prior to that, as I was all down-grade for many miles.  It did not reoccur.  Anyone else experience a similar hiccup?
2017 RB

Reply #3