Skip to main content
Topic: Tank Insulation: Yet Another Reason Not To (Read 324 times) previous topic - next topic
Tank Insulation: Yet Another Reason Not To
I think many of us long ago agreed that insulating the holding tanks was a waste of money and a PITA. Reinforcing the latter, after a buying spree at CW on the trip up here to Oregon, I decided after dumping to change out the sticking grey water waste valve. Simple, right?  Just four bolts and you're on your way. NOT!  If you foolishly ordered the insulation option (hey, I was a newbie), you will find that 4-5 inches of the stuff completely covers the back of the valve, including the four nuts that are on the other end of those bolts. Getting that stuff off is a bear, and will have to wait until we return. Til then, I'll keep lubing the waste slide and hope the handle doesn't break. Definitely a bonehead move on the factory's part. -- Jon
(Former) ‘06 TK “Albatross.” And (former) Vespa 250.   Alas, no more; both are gone.😕 Great memories remain! 😄

Re: Tank Insulation: Yet Another Reason Not To
Reply #1
"I think many of us long ago agreed that insulating the holding tanks was a waste of money and a PITA."
----
Agreed! I declined the foam treated tanks on my 2003 for two reasons; I had seen the foam goop on an LD's tanks (yes, covering the valve screws!) before I ordered, and also because I figured that if it was cold enough for a long enough time to prevent several gallons of tank contents from freezing, it was a very sure bet that neither the rig nor I would be in that location!  ;)
2003 TK has a new home

Reply #2
When we placed the order for our RB, I had gone over the list of "options" offered and asked Todd about the insulation for the holding tanks.

He asked me if I planned to camp during the winter months at high altitude. I told him no and that was that. I truly don't think he was convinced it would do much good.