Skip to main content
Topic: 1994 26.5 Mid bath Leaking storage compartment (Read 380 times) previous topic - next topic
1994 26.5 Mid bath Leaking storage compartment
Hello-

I am new to Rv'ing and to Lazy Daze. I searched for over a year before I found just the right unit, a 1994 26.5 Mid bath. I had a custom sofa built in the rear to replace the barrel chairs and make one big bed in the rear.

After a large rain storm I opened the lower right had storage bin behind the rear wheel, and noticed that it was wet inside, and it appears as if it has been wet many many times inside. the door appears to be closing tightly and and the seal is intact and in good shape.

Any advice?

Re: 1994 26.5 Mid bath Leaking storage compartment
Reply #1
I assume you have everything out of it and it is open and drying out? Have you been underneath to inspect it? That where I would start. A good light and mirror and safety goggles will help. Also take photos!

Can you see if the wetness begins in any part of the compartment, top, front, rear?  I think you will find the storage compartments in yours are , like mine, built from plywood. They can take a beating underneath and need to be maintained. Tell us more when you inspect them.

I also assume your sofa work was on the opposite side of the LD?
Paul
'92 Mid Bath

Reply #2
Yes, that wasnthe opposite side. Ill check this today and post any info.

Reply #3
With a twenty three year old rig, the water could be coming from several places.
The roof seam and/or window above the compartment could be leaking, with the water ending up in the storage compartment.
The end caps can leak and let water in, usually rotting the rear wall and corners.

In any case, water in the compartment is a bad sign because it likely comes in from above and wets the framing and insulation, in the process. 
Large amounts of water do not normally  show up in the exterior compartments unless subjected to a driving rain, from the side.