Skip to main content
Topic: TV antenna. From over air to cable (Read 22 times) previous topic - next topic
TV antenna. From over air to cable
Yahoo Message Number: 159427
G'day everyone.

This is my first time staying in an RV park and I have cable TV available.
When I hooked up the cable it comes in but is very distorted. I know on some RV's there is a switch to turn from the roof antenna to cable but on my 96 FL I only have a switch that boosts the antenna signal, at least I can't find another switch.

Does anyone know if my vintage LD had a separate switch, and if so where it might be hiding.

Looking in the manual I don't see anything to guide me.

Thanks.

Jota
Jota
96 23.5 FL

Re: TV antenna. From over air to cable
Reply #1
Yahoo Message Number: 159428
Keeping the amplifier off is cable. No light. Then you have to set the TV for cable.
Harry 2006RB

Reply #2
Yahoo Message Number: 159429
Thanks.
I am using a TV tuner on my laptop to watch TV. Don't think that matters though.
Jota
96 23.5 FL

Reply #3
Yahoo Message Number: 159442
Most parks provide analog cable only, since many sets do not receive digital cable (QAM) signals. Does your TV tuner accept analog cable channels? If it works fine using the TV antenna with digital OTA signals, then it likely has problems with analog signals. All TVs now have both analog and digital tuners, and most also have QAM tuners for digital cable - some with a cable-card slot.

Steve
2004 FL
2013 Honda Fit

Reply #4
Yahoo Message Number: 159443
My TV tuner only has ATSC, cable or NTSC for options, so I don't think it is analog cable.
Oh well. my team lost in the NCAA tournament already so I don't have to worry about it now.

Thanks.

Jota
Jota
96 23.5 FL

Reply #5
Yahoo Message Number: 159449