Skip to main content
Topic: Detector Confusion/Gray Water Waste Valve/Statkus Engine (Read 12 times) previous topic - next topic
Detector Confusion/Gray Water Waste Valve/Statkus Engine
Yahoo Message Number: 152714
Detector Confusion
 As many of you know, I bought my 1998 Lazy Daze used last fall.  Someone mentioned earlier that they had replaced the LPG detector.  Since my rig is a 1998 (and I have no knowledge of it ever being replaced) should I replace it?  The green light is on and it seems to work fine.
 The couple that sold my rig to me were also "adverse" to smoke detectors and had removed the one on the ceiling near the door.  I replaced it myself with a combo battery operated alarm.
 Also, someone had mentioned that the LPG detector alarm was somewhere in the over the cab bed area.  However, I see no such switch in my 1998 Lazy Daze.

Gray Water Waste Valve
 My gray water waste valve is "dripping."  At first I tried a new cap, but to no avail.  I went out and bought a Valterra 3-inch replacement valve.  The man at the parts store was surprised it didn't use a smaller valve.  I suppose the Lazy Daze is different in that regard.
 I'm thinking I should be able to change this out myself.  I've read lots of information on the Internet on how to do it, and it seems pretty straightforward.  I've dumped the tanks and cleaned the area.  However, the problem is that the nuts and bolts are corroded and I can get them off.  I sprayed them with WD-40 last night, and I read somewhere about using a paper towel soaked in vinegar.
 I'd rather try to do this myself since as much as I like my RV repair guy here in Las Cruces, he charges $65.00 for the service call (mobile) and $90.00/hour.  I'd rather try and save $100.00 to change a $20.00 part.

Statkus Engine