Skip to main content
Topic: Replace Right Coach W/Small Recliner (Read 37 times) previous topic - next topic
Replace Right Coach W/Small Recliner
Yahoo Message Number: 152602
I'm a newbie with a '01 26RK.  I live in it, alone, full time.  I'm thinking about replacing the right couch with a small recliner.  Has anyone done this? Any recommendations / comments?

Bob '01 26RK

Re: Replace Right Coach W/Small Recliner
Reply #1
Yahoo Message Number: 152606
The right (passenger, port, or green shoe) side couch covers the spare tire.  There was this picture of someone that did basically a non destructive adding of two chairs on a mid bath in the picture section some months ago Life With A Lazy Daze RV  (I hope the link works).  This allows one to keep the storage been below and really could be done to either side.  The passenger side couch is longer than the left side so if you happen to be taller than 5'6" (my height) you may want to think which side you convert.
Currently: 2008 36' Tiffin Open Road
Previously: 2007 Mid Bath

Reply #2
Yahoo Message Number: 152612
I'm still learning about my rig (had it almost a month now) but believe the water tank is under the left side couch in my rig and, like you say, the left side couch / bed is longer - 75" which is nice even tho I'm short.

Looking thru the cracks, it looks like the carpet even goes to the right side wall.

So, I'm thinking about taking out the right side couch.  I'd like to communicate with anyone that has done this or knows how to go about it.

Also, does anyone have any recommendations on small recliners?

Bob '01 26RK

Reply #3
Yahoo Message Number: 152675
That was our modification. We like it and it is completely reversible, meaning that the couch can be reinstalled, in about 1/2 hour. Email us if interested.
Ken
 Man, I hope I'm sending this to the right place.... :) It's not clear to me if this is going to the list or who... Grrrrr.
Former 2009 MB owner

Reply #4
Yahoo Message Number: 152676