Skip to main content
Topic: Microwave and amps used (Read 19 times) previous topic - next topic
Microwave and amps used
Yahoo Message Number: 149982
First, let me say that I am not good with the technical side of how electricity works.  I have read several things on RV electricity and for some reason the technical information just never clicks for me.  But I know that I should only run one high amperage drawing appliance at a time (meaning air conditioner, microwave, electric heater or anything that produces heat or cold air) due to the limit of 30 amps. I have a Progressive Industries electrical management system (EMS) and I always make sure when I hook up that I have good power.   I have been full timing for 5.5 years in my 2008 Lazy Daze mid-bath and thought I had a good handle on how to use the limited power we have.
 Recently I smelled something like burning plastic when running one of the above appliances.  But it didn't happen all the time, just occasionally. I had the Lazy Daze at the shop last week and after some work, they found a slightly burned wire that lead to the transfer switch (I think its the switch that deals with the generator and 120 volt coming in from the external electrical box).  They ended up replacing the transfer switch and a circuit breaker.  They said I had probably run too much at once.  I told them I was very careful about that, but I can't say it never happened.
 Anyway, since then I have been watching my amps very carefully on the EMS in the last few days and noticed something that I thought was strange.  When I run the microwave the amps increases by 16 to 21 amps on the EMS (and I checked this several times just in case something else came on at the same time).  Most things I read say the draw for a microwave should be 12 - 15.  I plugged in my Kill-a-Watt and it shows it uses between 14 and 15 amps.