Skip to main content
Topic: Setting up for towing (Read 20 times) previous topic - next topic
Setting up for towing
Yahoo Message Number: 144363
Well with retirement close at hand it looks like extended trips are on the way! We have a 2002 Honda CRV (about 3800 lbs dry) and a 1995 23.5TK (460 cu in) with a Banks exhaust and transmission system.

I'd like suggestions on the best way to hook-up these vehicles for towing.

Do I need to beef-up the hitch? What tow bar and braking system works well? Should I consider a tow dolly?

Thanks
2021 Mid Bath

Re: Setting up for towing
Reply #1
Yahoo Message Number: 144364
Although we have been on the road for seven years as full-timers, I am a newbie for hitch and tow, The first few years we didn't have a car so we used our bicycles to get around at a park. Then, we wisely brought a CRV and my wife drove it for another two years as we travelled from point to point. That worked out great until my wife wanted to spend more time with the kids and grandchildren.  So, in September we finally ponied up the funds I spent $3200 to hitch our 2009 Honda CRV with Road Master Falcon Hitch Bar and Blue Ox receptor and a SMI Duo brake system.  I am very happy with the results so far.

The reason for using the Blue Ox as the receptor on the Honda is that I didn't want the Roadmaster bracket on the front of the car.  I realize one can take it off, but the Blue Ox fitting is so easy to work with that one hardly knows it is there.  So, my wife is a happy camper, and I am free to travel wherever so long as it's close to an airport.

Good luck on your purchase!

On Thursday, January 2, 2014 8:00 AM, "ted_shred@..."  wrote:

Reply #2
Yahoo Message Number: 144365