Skip to main content
Topic: Tioga Pass Road (Read 2 times) previous topic - next topic
Tioga Pass Road
Yahoo Message Number: 117862
Has anyone with a 30' LD driven Tioga Road (120) in Yosemite NP from West to East? I have very little experience on mountain roads and we are planning a trip out West next summer.

Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks, Clara Ellis

Re: Tioga Pass Road
Reply #1
Yahoo Message Number: 117865
"Has anyone with a 30' LD driven Tioga Road (120) in Yosemite NP from West to East?"

Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks, Clara Ellis
Clara
 Sure have, both ways, down and up. It's a long but not all that steep  a grade (except to the preception of 1st timers). Done it maybe a dozen times over the years, with and without a toad and even once or twice in a Volkswagen van. You will probably want to use 2nd gear east bound down the hill and perhaps on the upgrade as well, depending on how good a run you can get at it.

Steve S.
Lazy Bones & Jiggs 2004 30'IB + '08 CRV
Steve S.
Lazy Bones & Cedar
2004 30'IB (Island Bed)
Yesterday is History, Tomorrow is a Mystery
Live for the day!

Reply #3
Yahoo Message Number: 117873
Dependent on time of year of your visit, make sure the pass is open.  Suni

[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Reply #5
Yahoo Message Number: 117875
"Clara"  wrote: Has anyone with a 30' LD driven Tioga Road (120) in Yosemite NP from West to East? I have very little experience on mountain roads and we are planning a trip out West next summer.
--- Clara, I drive a 24', but have traveled 120 both ways many times. The "downgrade" (west to east) that Steve mentioned is roughly from the Tioga Pass entrance station kiosk down to the junction of 120 and 395; the elevation drop is about 3200' in about 11 miles, and I seocnd Steve's suggestion of gearing down to descend!