Skip to main content
Topic: Roll Call! Atlantic Canada / Maritimes this summer (and a quiz) (Read 4 times) previous topic - next topic
Roll Call! Atlantic Canada / Maritimes this summer (and a quiz)
Yahoo Message Number: 111550
Yahoo!  Who else is headed to NE Canada this summer?

We're leaving early June, hitting New England and then Atlantic Canada, returning home by mid-August ("Lord willing"- always included when talking about Ciao taking us anywhere, though she's never failed us).

Really appreciate Mike C's great info!
 http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/lifewithalazydazerv/message/111210

and his good LINKS added to our Canada folder here:

http://tinyurl.com/yhgdz33

The funniest thing happened today at a kid's horseback lesson:

"So," I said to my friend, Janice, "I'm going to run off to Canada this summer!  Do you know the difference between Atlantic Canada and the Canadian Maritimes?"  Janice attempted it, but I'm an expert now since I read the entire introduction in Moon's "Atlantic Canada."

Do you guys know?  I'll tell you at the end.

There were only 2 other people within 100 yards, sitting right in front of us.  They turn around and smile, "We're from Newfoundland!  We just flew in yesterday."

How weird is that???  Can you imagine they flew thousands of miles to southern Texas, only to hear all about their home?!

Fortunately, they said I was correct on my naming distinction and did not make a fool of myself (this time).  They gave wonderful suggestions of things to do and eat, particularly cod's tongue (who knew fish had a tongue?!) and suggested I say "understand Newfoundland" to get the proper cadence and pronunciation.  They laughed to think "yuum's" (spelling?) is their version of "y'all."  Small world!

Okay, ready for the quiz answer: